Thursday, August 30, 2012

USDA Disaster Assistance Available to Maine Farmers

MAINE - The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) that farmers in a number of Maine counties are now eligible for disaster assistance through the Farm Service Agency (FSA) due to losses caused by multiple disasters during the 2012 crop year.
“Our state’s farmers have experienced several natural disasters during this crop year, so the approval of this assistance is definitely welcome news,” said Michaud. “I encourage Mainers to contact their local Farm Service Agency office to learn more about how these programs can help.”
According to the USDA, farmers have 8 months to apply for emergency loan assistance. For more information on FSA programs and eligibility requirements, Mainers should contact the Maine FSA office at 207-990-9140 or visit the FSA website.
Details supplied by USDA on the disaster declarations and the Maine counties eligible for assistance can be found below.
Designation #1: The combined effects of frost, freezes, and hailstorms that occurred during the period of April 26 through June 23, 2012.
  • Primary counties: Androscoggin, Cumberland, Oxford and York
  • Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Franklin, Kennebec and Sagadahoc
Designation #2: Excessive rain that occurred from June 15 through June 30, 2012.
  • Primary county: Penobscot
  • Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Aroostook, Hancock, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington

No comments: